选择你的语言

s5标志

此邮件地址受spam bots保护。 您必须启用JavaScript才能查看。

英国:+ 44(0)2392 484491 美国:1-805-246-1462

leea安全奖

称重传感器制造商Straightpoint(SP)赢得了首届起重设备工程师协会(LEEA)安全奖,该奖项是在上周在英国米尔顿凯恩斯举行的LiftEx贸易展的第一个晚上举行的盛大活动上,在260嘉宾面前展示的。

由起重和索具设备提供商Rigging Services赞助,它是晚上发布的八个奖杯之一,因为该行业的领先权威机构LEEA利用其旗舰活动做出明确的举措,以表彰成员公司和个人代表他们的成功与特定的评判标准。

SP还入围年度学徒,年度创新产品,年度可持续解决方案和无名英雄类别。 客户服务,年度经理和Kevin Holmes奖(为奖励那些在人员发展方面表现卓越的公司,团队和个人而开发的纪念奖)完成了荣誉列表。

Rigging Services的技术经理Doug Price向SP的总监David Ayling赠送了大量的银器。 名人演讲嘉宾马特道森,一位退休的英格兰橄榄球联盟球员,现在是英国电视台熟悉的面孔,他们在舞台上加入了他们的行列。 晚上也因为大奥蒙德街医院筹集超过2,000的费用而闻名。

Ayling说:“这个概念一般都很受欢迎,从会员的角度来看,晚会取得了巨大的成功,适合整体出色的LiftEx。 鉴于LEEA在行业中的地位以及安全在我们公司的DNA中的程度,在安全类别中取得胜利是势不可挡的。 我们强调我们的工作是“让起重行业成为一个更安全的地方”,以及我们实现这一目标的更强有力的支持?

安全为重点

Rigging Services总监Paul Fulcher表示:“安全始终是我们公司的首要任务; 对于员工来说,从第一天起就灌输给他们。 赞助此奖项是很自然的,因为它包含了我们自己的精神,我们可能会发现自己与最终的赢家有同情心。 我们很荣幸能与LEEA合作; 奖项概念,定义其工作; 以及这一特殊类别的以安全为中心。“

Fulcher也是LEEA董事长两年任期的中途补充说:“我有两个理由向David和SP-one表示祝贺,我的公司帽子和另一个作为该协会的代表。 奖项的完整性必须是绝对的。 除此之外,关于安全奖,它不能是主观的; 有客观的测量。 单个被提名者不能保证获胜者,评委也不会在最坏的情况下获得荣誉。 因此,专家组[包括高级LEEA管理层和名誉终身成员]的意见一定是SP真正应得的 - 并且需要真诚的表彰。“

在为媒体准备的声明中,LEEA首席执行官Ross Moloney博士说:“LEEA奖旨在表彰我们会员的卓越表现,并向全球起重行业和终端用户市场展示。 对于一个令人难以置信的夜晚,从高数量和令人印象深刻的参赛作品标准到出色的投票率,这一反应非常积极。 我感谢那些花时间进入的公司和个人。 祝贺所有决赛选手,当然还有获奖者,特别感谢我们的赞助商提供的出色支持。“

照片:从左至右,LEEA的首席执行官Ross Moloney博士; SP主任David Ayling; Rigging Services技术经理Doug Price; 和马特道森


劳伦和戴夫Straightpoint(SP)任命Lauren Johnson为销售和客户支持主管,因为称重传感器制造商继续扩大其位于英国Havant总部的团队,这与正在进行的瞪羚增长战略保持一致。

这项任命代表了约翰逊的工业部门,约翰逊曾担任附近汉普郡海岸线场地的助理经理/活动协调员。 此外,它完成了与其核心优势和能力更紧密结合的销售/客户服务职位的过渡。

她说:“我决心找到合适的角色; 这份工作出现在我注册的招聘网站上,我毫不犹豫地提出申请,因为我可以转移以满足关键标准。 我之前的工作涉及创建和跟进活动领导,关闭销售,向上销售包装,以及监督工厂日常程序的顺利运作。“

在SP,约翰逊于11月开始使用12,主要负责报价,订单和一般客户服务查询。 她还将负责管理与欧洲,中东,亚洲和澳大利亚的全球合作伙伴的关系,因为力测量设备专家与这些战略性的当地经销商合作,为他们各自的市场中的起重和许多其他应用提供产品。

约翰逊说:“就产品而言,它们在光谱方面完全不同,但销售概念类似。 此外,卓越的客户服务在我以前的职位中非常重要,因为这是我们如何确保重复业务和建议。 我已经很清楚,SP愿意超越合作伙伴和最终用户的职责范围,因此我以前和新雇主之间存在很多共同点。“

不断发展的SP熟悉入职流程 - Kizzie Cordwell仅在今年夏天才进入内部销售,而Johnson已经开始了解广泛的产品系列,来自最畅销的Radiolink plus将电池装入设备以获得更多利基,专业应用。

她说:“产品太多了,我只在这里待了一个星期,所以我还在接触其中一些产品。 但是我有一位很棒的老师,所以我想快点接他们 - 我想! 我的第一印象非常好; 每个人都很友好,并热情地欢迎我进入SP家庭。 整个建筑运行效率高,员工以热情和奉献精神开展工作。 到目前为止,我遇到的客户同样很有吸引力。“

SP的主管大卫艾林说:“劳伦在第一周完成这项工作是合适的,因为该团队的其他成员正忙于联网并在英国的LiftEx贸易展上创造领先优势。 它已经成为一个非常多方面的,动态的操作,并且在早期的新员工中变得明显。 我听说感觉进展顺利,劳伦已经接受了这个激动人心的挑战。 一如既往,能够欢迎另一位年轻的专业人​​士加入SP大家庭。“

在业余时间,约翰逊喜欢运动和烹饪。


daveatspeedy

Straightpoint(SP)支持蓝牙的Radiniink plus称重传感器和随附的HHP应用程序被命名 提升年度产品 在有史以来规模最大的Speedy Expo上,该展览会于本月初在利物浦展览中心举行。

Speedy拥有专业的起重部门,为物料搬运和其他应用提供丰富的设备。 租赁公司邀请人员和客户参加年度活动,今年450供应商有机会在130展台上向1,000参展者展示他们的产品,包括区域和国家客户。

年度提升产品奖根据创新和绩效的原则标准进行评判,高级供应链人员评审团授予SP标志性技术荣誉,该公司的展台也展示了这一点。 2018 Speedy Expo于10月的31st和11月的1st举行,颁奖晚会将在展览的第一晚举行。

正如该事件的授权概述 - 并且对于评委来说很明显 - SP最近更新了其蓝牙功能,并推出了其受欢迎的应用程序的增强版本。 称重传感器现在使用无线技术在短距离内交换数据,与多达8个设备进行通信,最多可传输100m(328英尺)的信息。

收集的数据可以Excel电子表格或PDF报告的形式发送到其他收件人。 Speedy评委指出,该产品能够从同一设备发送报告,捕获其人员已有的数据,如手机或手机。

Speedy的合作服务和供应链总监Andy Connor表示:“我们的成功产品因其创新,安全和性能而受到赞扬。 我们已经在近十几年的时间内举办了Speedy Expo,但这个概念在最初设想时要小得多。 除了将我们的供应商与我们的员工联系在一起外,在过去三年中,我们还增加了客户参与度,以展示我们提供的产品和服务的广泛创新。“

SP董事David Ayling表示:“租赁行业对起重设备提出了独特的要求,Speedy的社区非常关注创新和性能在多大程度上可以提高煤层面的安全性和生产率。 因此,这个受人尊敬的评审小组的赞誉代表了我们在力测量应用中实施蓝牙技术的一个重要里程碑。 我们非常感谢这一荣誉,并理解这种高调认可所带来的责任。“

Ayling从Speedy的首席执行官Russell Down那里获得了奖项。


sp hhp app正在使用中总部位于英国贝德福德郡的起重机检查员利用Straightpoint(SP)的蓝牙6.5t容量Radiolink plus称重传感器,最近完成了对全路面起重机的定期检查。 这是一系列类似任务中的最新一项,包括塔架,装载机和其他移动式起重机等起重机的负载测试。

JG法定检验服务有限公司(JGSIS)专门制作报告,详细说明对包括起重机在内的设备进行彻底检查的结果,这些检查是法律要求定期检查的。 例如,起重作业和起重设备法规1998(LOLER)对拥有,操作或控制起重设备的人员和公司负责。

在最新的案例研究中,JGSIS使用Bluetooth Radiolink plus检测了Baldwins Crane Hire的XMUMXt容量Demag AC 1,000-1000 / 9全地形伸缩式起重机。 九轴起重机拥有集成的电子负载力矩指示器(LMI); 显示当前操作条件,负载图表和故障指示器的彩色显示屏; 信号灯指示负载; 和起重机数据记录器。

必须检查此类设备的持续准确性,并向起重机所有者提供其记录的验证。 重要的是,在这种情况下,JGSIS没有测试1,000t功能,而只是验证起重机的仪器读数与称重传感器相同。 此外,检查小组“晃动”直到检测到过载情况,并根据卷尺记录测量结果。

SP最近更新了其蓝牙功能,并推出了其受欢迎的应用程序的增强版本。 称重传感器现在使用无线技术在短距离内交换数据,与多达8个设备进行通信,最多可传输100m(328英尺)的信息。 收集的数据可以Excel电子表格或PDF报告的形式发送到其他收件人。 行业专业人士已经注意到能够从同一设备发送报告,捕获已经存在于其个人身上的数据,例如移动电话或手机。

JGSIS主任菲利普詹金斯说:“我们生活在一个交付速度对每个人都很重要的世界。 蓝牙系统允许我记录数据,附上PDF报告,并将其发送给客户,即使我在现场完成GPS定位。 当我们在现场时,它还可以节省我们寻找具有已知重量的测试砝码或物品,因为我们可以使用称重传感器来验证负载。 现在我们可以 sp radiolink plus确认现场任何东西的重量,无论是混凝土块还是装载跳过,并将其用于我们的测试程序。“

JGSIS利用蓝牙设备适合在相对较短的距离内使用。 该应用程序的名称来自SP的Handheld plus显示单元,其范围高达700m(2,300ft。),而多无线负载单元控制器(SW-MWLC)软件包显示和记录来自100 SP无线负载的数据同时细胞。 然而,这项技术更适合要求更高的专业应用 - 不是蓝牙概念的焦点,也不太可能是起重机检查所必需的。

菲利普詹金斯补充说:“当我第一次与SP开启对话时,我们讨论了手持设备选项,但它会增加额外设备的费用,蓝牙解决方案更直接,更具成本效益。 此外,它使我们成为使用最先进设备的尖端检测业务。 还有其他检验公司,但他们用最新设备为工程师加工的成本将被视为过高,因此他们仍在使用更传统的方法。“

JGSIS已经交易了大约18个月,最初接受了Radiniink plus系统的交付,这是在11小时的要求下对一系列希尔博装载起重机进行负载测试。 负责监督该流程的SP业务开发经理David Mullard表示,该订单在24小时内的周转时间强调了制造商与独立测试业务合作的能力,这些业务通常会在短时间内被召集到现场。

所有SP的无线称重传感器现在都可以构建为蓝牙版本,作为标准无线版本的替代品,可根据要求提供或在订购时指定。

带有HHP应用程序的RLP刚刚获得了Speedy Hire在其Speedy Expo - 年度提升产品中颁发的奖项!

照片由JGSIS提供:
热门:JGSIS总监Philip Jenkins通过蓝牙应用程序阅读。
底部:SP称重传感器被装配在钩子下面。


旧SP称重传感器波兰船用电子集成专家Navinord已经安装了一套最先进的软件包,其中包括四台Straightpoint(SP)称重传感器,位于440t容量浮动起重机上,该起重机目前位于第三千禧保罗二世大桥附近,跨越马特瓦维斯拉河在格但斯克,波兰。

它的新主人去年在西班牙毕尔巴鄂1971修建了起重机,最初名为“Consulado De Bilbao Dos”。 它现在位于格但斯克的Marine Projects Ltd.的造船厂, 位于格丁尼亚北部的20km。 该起重机目前被称为“康拉德领事”,其名称中有一半来自Marine Projects的女儿公司Conrad SA,后者专门生产和交付完整的豪华帆船和机动游艇。

领事拥有两对挂钩,前面两个100t容量和两个后面更大的200t容量单位。 但是,其总容量仅为440t,而单个升降机可以使用四个挂钩,但并非所有挂钩都能同时升至其全部容量。 在每个吊钩上都有一台SP 25t容量的Radiolink plus称重传感器,每个吊钩都在去年夏季对起重机进行大修时安装。

Navinord的负载监测系统-LMSmk1能够收集来自最多16应变仪的数据,Navinord的海事电子专家PiotrCywiński解释说,Navinord的总部位于格但斯克附近。

除了四个SP单元之外,另外两个设备还对悬臂线力进行反馈。 所有设备都可以将数据传送给远程读取的主计算机,并通过互联网和/或Consul的驾驶室进行读取。 该系统还提供错误通知; 生成涵盖指定时间段的信息图; 和可定制的界面颜色。

Cywiński说,除了起重机本身还有其他许多功能。 领事配备导航和通信设备,主要用于海上抢救,船舶应急响应服务(SERS)和残骸清除应用。 与此同时,中央电视台在需要工作时,例如在货物拖车内或另一艘船可能会遮挡操作员的视野时,可以将视线从视线中移出。

领事由两台福伊特施耐德推进器提供动力,这些推进器在一个单元内提供推进和转向,而新的发电机,电力转换器,链条滑车,起重绳索,玻璃操舵室和转向控制台等都是新装置。

该地区还有另外两个类似的浮式起重机--330t生产能力Maja和100t生产能力Conrad Goliath(后者也属于Marine Projects),但是领事是最大的。 虽然它主要从事格但斯克和格丁尼亚的起重作业,但它也具有开阔的海上航行能力,使波兰和立陶宛其他地方的港口可以通行。


快速联络表

请让我们知道你的名字。

输入无效

请让我们知道您的电子邮件地址。

输入无效

输入无效

一旦你发送了这个表格,它会立即到达一个SP代表,直接,谁将会尽快回复你的询问。 或者,如果您希望回电,请在留言中告诉我们。
输入无效

enzh-TWnlfrdenoes

联系我们 Straightpoint

汉普郡,英国总部 - + 44(0)2392 484491
美国卡马里洛总部 - 1-805-246-1462
德克萨斯州休斯顿, - 713-955-2655
明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯 - 612-808-8969

Select your language

Crosby Straightpoint

  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 UK: +44(0)2392 484491    USA: +1 918 834 4611

Rober Desel and David Ayling seal the dealDallas, Texas-based The Crosby Group LLC, the largest lifting, rigging, and material handling hardware company in the world, has completed the acquisition of Straightpoint UK (SP), a leading manufacturer of load cells and force measurement equipment. The value of the transaction is not disclosed.
The acquisition, effective 1 January 2019, includes the manufacturing facility and headquarters, co-located in Hampshire, UK that will become Crosby’s center of excellence for load monitoring and measurement, in addition to key personnel based in the U.S.

David Ayling, formerly CEO at SP, will step into a new role overseeing sales, marketing, and product development functions for all load monitoring equipment. He will report to Robert Desel, Chief Commercial Officer at Crosby.

Ayling said: “SP has built a very strong team focused on innovation and high service levels and we wanted to ensure we could maintain and capitalize on these important features of the company. Crosby’s brand, its channel strength, global reach, and management team will enable us to build on our strengths and take the business to a new level. Becoming part of Crosby represents an opportunity to deliver our solutions to more customers and increase the pace of our innovation. It is an exciting new chapter for SP, its team members, and customers.

Desel said: “We’ve had a close relationship with SP for quite a while—its load shackles are based on the industry standard Crosby G2130 shackle, and we use SP products on our Safe Rigging trucks. SP’s position as a leader and innovator in load measurement and monitoring, and the opportunity to integrate its technology into our already strong portfolio, made this a compelling addition to Crosby. Safe lifting is in Crosby’s DNA and load monitoring is a critical part of that equation. Monitored lifts are inherently safer and we can now increase adoption of this best practice on a global scale.

He continued: “The acquisition is focused on growth. SP already represented a force in the marketplace and as part of Crosby we can position its products and expertise closer to the point of use and increase the pace of innovation.” Ayling confirmed that SP would maintain its commitment to non-rigging markets, such as the weighing sector.
Desel concluded: “We are very excited to add the SP brand, best-in-class products, manufacturing capabilities, and team members to the Crosby organization.

crosbysp

About Crosby
Crosby is a leading manufacturer of premium accessories used in lifting, rigging and securement applications. Based in the US, the company has the reputation around the world for providing a broad range of products suitable for the most demanding of operating conditions with uncompromising quality. Products include wire rope clips, hooks, shackles, lifting clamps, hoist rings, overhaul balls, snatch blocks, crane blocks and sheaves. Crosby also provides a “world class” training program, focusing on the proper application of Crosby Products.
About Straightpoint
For 40 years Straightpoint has manufactured and supplied cabled and wireless telemetry loadlink, load shackles, load cells, digital dynamometers, compression loadcells, crane scales, running line tensiometers and software solutions as well as a range of intrinsically safe load cells. Safety, reliability and quality are paramount in the lifting and rigging industries and so Straightpoint designs and manufactures to the highest standards including ISO9001, DNV-GL Type Approval, ATEX and IECEx.

leea safety award

Load cell manufacturer Straightpoint (SP) won the inaugural Lifting Equipment Engineers Association (LEEA) Safety Award, presented in front of over 260 guests at a gala event staged on the first night of last week’s LiftEx trade show in Milton Keynes, UK.

Sponsored by lifting and rigging equipment provider Rigging Services, it was one of eight trophies to be given out on the evening as LEEA, the leading authority in the industry, used its flagship event to make a definitive move to recognise member companies and individual representatives for their success against specific judging criteria.

SP was also shortlisted in the Apprentice of the Year, Innovative Product of the Year, Sustainable Solution of the Year, and Unsung Hero categories. Customer Service, Manager of the Year, and the Kevin Holmes Award (a memorial accolade developed to reward companies, teams, and individuals who display excellence in people development) completed the list of honours.

Doug Price, technical manager at Rigging Services, presented David Ayling, director at SP, with the hefty piece of silverware. Celebrity guest speaker Matt Dawson, a retired England rugby union player and now a familiar face on UK television, joined them on stage. The evening was also notable for raising over £2,000 for Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Ayling said: “The concept generally was well received and from a member’s perspective the evening was a great success, befitting of an excellent LiftEx in totality. To emerge victorious in the safety category was overwhelming given LEEA’s stature in the industry and the extent to which safety is in our company’s DNA. We underscore our work with the mantra ‘making the lifting industry a safer place’ and what stronger endorsement could there be that we’re meeting that objective?”

Safety as priority

Paul Fulcher, director at Rigging Services, said: “Safety has always been a number one priority at our company; for employees, that’s inculcated in them from their first day. Sponsorship of this award was therefore natural in that it encapsulates our own ethos and we would likely find ourselves kindred spirits with the eventual winners. We’re honoured to be associated with LEEA; the awards concept, which defines its work; and the safety-centricity of this particularly category.”

Fulcher, who is also halfway through a two-year tenure as LEEA chairman, added: “I had two reasons for offering my congratulations to David and SP—one with my company hat on and the other as a representative of the association. The integrity of the awards must be absolute. Beyond that, with regards to the Safety Award, it can’t be subjective; there are objective measurements. A single nominee wouldn’t guarantee a winner, nor would the judges have bestowed the honour upon the best of a bad bunch. Thus, it must have been the opinion of the panel [comprising senior LEEA management and honorary life members] that SP were truly deserving—and that warrants sincere commendation.”

In a statement prepared for media, Dr. Ross Moloney, CEO at LEEA, said: “The LEEA Awards is all about recognising the excellence of our members and showcasing it to the global lifting industry and to end user markets. The response has been overwhelmingly positive—from the high number and impressive standard of entries to an outstanding turnout for an incredible evening. I thank all those companies and individuals that took the time to enter. Congratulations to all the finalists and, of course, the winners and special thanks to our sponsors for their outstanding support.”

Photo: Left to right Dr. Ross Moloney, CEO at LEEA; David Ayling, director at SP; Doug Price, technical manager at Rigging Services; and Matt Dawson


lauren and daveStraightpoint (SP) has named Lauren Johnson sales and customer support executive, as the load cell manufacturer continues to expand its team based at Havant, UK headquarters in line with an ongoing gazelle growth strategy.

The appointment represents a move into the industrial sector for Johnson, who was previously assistant manager / events coordinator for a venue on the nearby Hampshire coastline. Moreover, it completes a transition into a sales / customer service position more closely aligned with her core strengths and abilities.

She said: “I was determined to find the right role; this job appeared on a recruitment site where I was registered and I had no hesitation in making an application given the breadth of skills I could transfer to meet the key criteria. My previous job involved creating and following up leads on events, closing sales, up-selling packages, and overseeing the smooth operation of everyday procedures at the facility.”

At SP, Johnson, who started on 12 November, will principally look after quotations, orders, and general customer service enquiries. She will also be responsible for managing relationships with global partners in Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and Australia, as the force measurement equipment specialist works with these strategic local distributors to provide product for lifting and many other applications in their respective marketplaces.

Johnson said: “They’re both completely different ends of the spectrum in respect of products, but the concept of the sale is similar. Also, great customer service was important in my previous role, as that is how we secured repeat business and recommendations. It’s already clear to me that SP is willing to go above and beyond the call of duty for partners and end users alike, so there is a great deal of common ground between my previous and new employers.”

Ever-growing SP is familiar with the on-boarding process—Kizzie Cordwell stepped into the previous position to be filled in inside sales only this summer—and Johnson has already started to learn about the extensive product range, from the best-selling Radiolink plus load cell to equipment for more niche, specialised applications.

She said: “There are so many products and I’ve only been here a week so I’m still touching on some of them. But I have a great teacher, so I’m picking them up quick—I think! My first impressions are excellent; everyone is friendly and has welcomed me into the SP family with great warmth. The whole building runs with efficiency and staff carries out their jobs with enthusiasm and dedication. The customers I’ve encountered so far have been equally engaging.”

David Ayling, director at SP, said: “It’s fitting that Lauren completed her first week as other members of the team were busy networking and generating leads at the UK’s LiftEx trade show. It’s become a very multifaceted, dynamic operation and that becomes evident to new employees in their early days. I hear inductions have gone well and that Lauren has embraced this exciting challenge. As always, it’s a privilege to welcome another young professional to the SP family.”

In her spare time, Johnson enjoys sports and cooking.


daveatspeedy

Straightpoint’s (SP) Bluetooth-enabled Radiolink plus load cell and accompanying HHP app were named Lifting Product of the Year at the largest Speedy Expo ever, which took place at the Exhibition Centre Liverpool at the turn of the month.

Speedy has a specialist lifting division that offers an abundance of equipment for material handling and other applications. The rental company invites personnel and customers to an annual event, which this year gave 450 suppliers an opportunity to display their wares on 130 exhibition stands to over 1,000 attendees, including regional and national customers.

The Lifting Product of the Year Award was judged on the principle criteria of innovation and performance, with a judging panel of senior supply chain personnel bestowing the honour on SP’s landmark technology, which was also demonstrated on the company’s exhibition stand. The 2018 Speedy Expo took place on 31st October and 1st November, with the awards evening being held on the first night of the exhibition.

As outlined to the event’s delegation—and evident to judges—SP recently updated its Bluetooth capability and launched an enhanced version of its popular app. Load cells now use wireless technology for exchanging data over short distances to communicate with up to eight devices, carrying the information up to 100m (328 ft.) away.

Collected data can be sent onto other recipients in the form of an Excel spreadsheet or PDF report. Speedy judges noted the product’s ability to send reports from the same device that captures data that is already on their person—such as a mobile or cell phone.

Andy Connor, Partnered Services and Supply Chain Director at Speedy, said: “Our winning products were all commended for their innovation, safety, and performance. We have been staging the Speedy Expo for nearly 10 years but the concept was a lot smaller when it was first conceived. As well as bringing our suppliers together with our employees, over the last three years we have increased customer participation to showcase the breadth of innovation in terms of the products and services that we offer.”

David Ayling, Director at SP, said: “The rental sector places unique demands on lifting equipment and Speedy’s community is acutely attuned to the extent to which innovation and performance can lead to enhanced safety and productivity at the coalface. As such, plaudits from this esteemed judging panel represent a major milestone in our implementation of Bluetooth technology in force measurement applications. We’re grateful for the accolade and understand the responsibility that comes with such high-profile recognition.”

Ayling collected the award from Speedy’s chief executive, Russell Down.


sp hhp app in useA Bedfordshire, UK-based crane inspector utilised a Bluetooth-enabled, 6.5t capacity Radiolink plus load cell from Straightpoint (SP) to complete periodic inspection of an all-terrain crane recently. It was the latest in a series of similar assignments including load tests on lifting machines such as tower, loader, and other mobile cranes.

JG Statutory Inspection Services Ltd. (JGSIS) specialises in production of reports detailing the results of thorough inspections carried out on equipment, including cranes, which is required under law to be inspected periodically. Lifting Operations and Lifting Equipment Regulations 1998 (LOLER), for example, place duties on people and companies who own, operate or have control over lifting equipment.

In the latest case study, JGSIS used the Bluetooth Radiolink plus to inspect a 1,000t capacity Demag AC 1000-9/2 all-terrain telescopic crane for Baldwins Crane Hire. The nine-axle crane boasts an integrated electronic load moment indicator (LMI); a colour display showing current operating conditions, load charts, and a fault indicator; signal lights indicating the load; and a crane data logger.

The ongoing accuracy of such equipment must be checked and verification given to the crane owner for their records. Importantly, JGSIS wasn’t testing the 1,000t capability in this instance, but only verifying that the crane’s instruments were reading the same as the load cell. Additionally, the inspection team “jibbed out” until an overload situation was detected and recorded the measurements against a tape measure.

SP recently updated its Bluetooth capability and launched an enhanced version of its popular app. Load cells now use wireless technology for exchanging data over short distances to communicate with up to eight devices, carrying the information up to 100m (328 ft.) away. Collected data can be sent onto other recipients in the form of an Excel spreadsheet or PDF report. Industry professionals have noted the ability to send reports from the same device that captures data that is already on their person—such as a mobile or cell phone.

Philip Jenkins, director at JGSIS, said: “We live in a world where speed of delivery is important to everyone. The Bluetooth system allows me to record the data, attach a PDF report, and send it onto the customer even while I’m onsite—complete with GPS location. It also saves us looking for test weights or items with a known weight when we are onsite because we can use the load cell to verify the loads. Now we can sp radiolink plusconfirm the weight of anything onsite, whether it be a concrete block or loaded skip, and utilise it for our testing procedures.”

JGSIS utilises the Bluetooth-enabled device’s suitability for use over relatively short distances. The app takes its name from SP’s Handheld plus display unit, which has a range of up to 700m (2,300ft.), while the Multiple Wireless Load Cell Controller (SW-MWLC) software package displays and logs data from up to 100 SP wireless load cells simultaneously. However, this technology is better suited to more demanding, specialist applications—not the focal point of the Bluetooth concept and unlikely to be necessary for crane inspection.

Philip Jenkins added: “When I first opened dialogue with SP we discussed the handheld option but it would have added the expense of an additional unit and the Bluetooth solution is far more straightforward and cost effective. Further, it presents us as a cutting edge inspection business using state-of-the-art equipment. There are other inspection companies out there but the cost for them to tool-up their engineers with the latest equipment would be deemed prohibitive so they are still using more traditional methods.”

JGSIS, which has been trading for approximately 18 months, originally took delivery of the Radiolink plus system following an 11th-hour request to load-test a series of Hiab loader cranes. David Mullard, business development manager at SP, who oversaw the process, said turnaround of the order within 24 hours emphasises the manufacturer’s ability to work with independent testing businesses that are often summoned to site at short notice.

All of SP’s wireless load cells can now be built as a Bluetooth version as an alternative to the standard wireless version, available on request or specified at time of order.

The RLP with HHP App has just won an award presented by Speedy Hire at their Speedy Expo - Lifting Product of the Year!

Photos courtesy JGSIS:
Top: Philip Jenkins, director at JGSIS, takes a reading via Bluetooth App.
Bottom: The SP load cell is rigged below-the-hook.


Fast Contact Form

Please let us know your name.

Invalid Input

Please let us know your email address.

Invalid Input

Invalid Input

Invalid Input

Invalid Input

Once you have sent this form it will instantly reach an SP representitive, directly, who will respond to your enquiry by email asap. Or if you would prefer a call back please let us know in the message.
enzh-TWnlfrdenoes